Apparently it’s World Poetry Day or Something…

She woke me.

Though I set my alarm, just four hours from the time.
She beat me.
And I know it wasn’t her, it was him, but she was next and I hated her in that moment.
Thirty minutes passed and I continued to stare.
Hating him, hating her.
Because of him I couldn’t take her down.
Those measly 10 mls.
Yet it was more in my head than it was in that bottle.
And I knew she would save me from him and for two hours I could let my lids close and my world darken.
Better than her sister,
Who lost her life to my sink.
But she still looked like poison, though her taste wasn’t half bad.
I needed her.
Hated her, feared her.
Feared falling in love.
Aw, the peace she would bring.
I look at her now,
My, “Just in case.”
Just in case…
Just in case what?
Just in case he comes back.
Just in case he doesn’t.
Just in case my mind puts me somewhere I don’t want to go.
She’ll be there.
But I know I’ll get rid of her.
Down the sink with her sister.
So I hope.
But there she sits, at arms length.
That bottle of poison.
Watching me sleep,
Seven hours of at a time.
No longer waking for her company.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Man Made Beauty that Ruined Me

This face was not made to be hidden, Skin covered, Barely breathing. Unable to look in a mirror, Unless the tone was even. And scars unapparent, Not distracting from eyes, The color of the soil, That made me, That I wanted to alter, To... Continue →