Apples

Sippin’ Dr. Pepper
smoking cigarettes
me, biting apple
clenching water bottle to my chest.

Us, screaming opposites attract
but he,
can’t stand the idea of commitment coming back
and nicotine
how it messes with my head
trying to disappear between the sheets
but can’t fall deep enough into his bed.

So we ride
on jokes amidst our pain
talk about it
kind of
then let it slip away.

Laugh
at how we’ll burn the whole thing down
then get silent
find our trees
are burning closer to the ground.

But he holds me like
I’m something he doesn’t want to let go
but knows me
like I’m something he’s gunna let go.

And we joke about it
as we watch the forest burn
pretend it won’t be us
until we’re called to it
walk into fire on our turn.

Wonder,
if we’ll make our way back
holding each other’s charred hands
pale skin turning black
parts of us
slowing falling to the floor
looking into hurting eyes
but still
coming back for more.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Man Made Beauty that Ruined Me

This face was not made to be hidden, Skin covered, Barely breathing. Unable to look in a mirror, Unless the tone was even. And scars unapparent, Not distracting from eyes, The color of the soil, That made me, That I wanted to alter, To... Continue →