Simplicity

I held on to her hand, to his hand,
And we crossed the road, and we crossed the ocean.
I arrived here.

Here, I held onto her hand, to his hand,
And we crossed the road.

Those hands gave me everything I needed,
I wanted.

Yes, everything I wanted came from those hands.

A child, in love with the two individuals that brought me.

The simplicity of life,
When daily struggles revolved around getting what I need,
And getting what I want.
Demanding what I want.

Knowing.
Knowing.

As the years passed, I let go of her hand, I let go of his.
I crossed many roads, and often found myself standing in the middle.
I forgot which side I came from, and which side I was trying to get to.

I refused her hand, I refused his.

I was always on the search, for what, I didn’t know.

We lived in silence, I didn’t share about the roads I crossed,
They didn’t share about theirs.

Simplicity disappeared.

There was traffic, the roads often too busy to cross.
I pushed buttons,
Sometimes I waited, sometimes I left.
I was often lost,
Wishing for simplicity.

But I refused her hand, and I refused his.

And so we sit in silence,
Roads and oceans between us.
And they sit in silence,
Roads and oceans between them.

And we all dream of childhood,
When daily struggles revolved around getting what we needed,
What we wanted.
When she only wanted to hold his hand, and him mine.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Cimicidae

You may have come to me in the middle of a nightmare I didn’t sense your presence or when you left but I know you laid upon me that night I noticed your marks in the morning unaware you were always following my breath. Your branding... Continue →