Darby

I learned the best way to enjoy my day
Was to make sure you did
Make sure we walked so much your pace slowed
And matched mine
That I had to continuously check that you were still there
And that my hand wasn’t holding onto nothing
Until my hand was behind my back pleading that you hurry up
I fake jog for you
Just to make sure it’s still in you to run
It is
You always save some of yourself for when if it’s needed later
My best days
Are the days I make promises to you that you can’t understand but I follow through anyway
Tell you we are going to the trail that day and now we have to
I don’t want you to not trust me to keep my word
So we end up at the trail often
Even when I don’t want to
I can’t imagine what it ever meant for you to be lied to
To be told love you forever but take you to cages
Sign you in and walk away
I wonder if they’ve ever looked into your eyes and saw how you see everyone’s soul
I can barely leave you when I close our front door
So mostly I don’t
My 5 seat car has become only a ride for two
Everything behind driver and shot gun
Has been marked by you
I’d take you everywhere
And on my best days I do

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Elated

So here we are, Despite everything we’ve just stated. My hand, in your hand, It’s like we’ve chosen to stay in. I look in your eyes, Your expression is faded. But I tighten my grip, For that moment when I was elated. I thought I found... Continue →