Dark Ground

The dark tugged the sun down.
And we aren’t sure if it was actually pulled,
Or pushed.

We were innocent, playing in the street,
And then, it’s like it was stolen from us.
Children, unable to wait to grow-up,
Not knowing the sun would go so quickly.

How they disappeared.
I stood there, hugging myself for warmth,
Wondering where they all went.
Like when love disappears into hurt,
And you can’t find that defining moment.

They’ll tell you it’s life,
The sun will rise again.
You can start fresh, tomorrow.

Tomorrow shows up, but I can’t shake the cold of last night.
How terrifying, knowing it will get dark again.
How nothing lasts forever.
Though, somethings, somethings feel like they do.

This knowledge of darkness,
How it takes the light before it is physically,
Pulled,
Pushed.

Yes, somethings last forever.
Damned.
They are cold, they are dark.

I stand here, hugging myself.
Shivering.
Screaming,
“Where did you go?”
Silence.
They don’t talk back.
Neither does the sun.
And how I thought the moon would keep me company.
But without one, the other is invisible.

Nothing lasts forever.
So I wonder when it will end.
When I can forget that first time the sun set.
Leaving me wandering empty streets.
Knocking on doors of vacant houses.
Seeing the sun on a forever darkened ground.

Me,
Pushing,
Pulling.
Longing for the end.
When the sun can rise, on a forgotten land.
Untouched by this mind,
That holds darkness at the ready.

One day the sun will rise on forgotten ground.
The children will play in the heat.
Unable to wait to grow-up.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

This bowl of soup is a promise

Sometimes love pops up in your top 10 then quickly evades it hit refresh, but still love’s face doesn’t show and the work must go on but what if? maybe nothing. but what if? maybe something, once upon a time until time passes and love,... Continue →