I’m afraid

It is September
nearing October
nearing November

I am afraid.

I am afraid to spend the holidays alone.
My friends invite me to their families’ holidays.

I am more afraid
to feel more alone at my friends’ holidays.

It is September.

4 of this year’s 12 months
remain undocumented
everyday
is a wish for tomorrow to be over sooner.

My friends still call.

I don’t always pick up for my friends.

Don’t always answer honestly when people ask how I’m doing.

It is fine and okay and okay and okay
until I am crying when someone reads a poem about depression
until I feel more heard in that poem than I feel heard by my friends.

When that poem called I picked up.
Went on stage later like nothing ever happened.

I know how to dress depression well.

Until I am alone again.
Until I am driving home again looking at windshield through tear blurred eyes
this is now common occurrence drive

nothing ever feels safe though
meaning
nothing feels more dangerous either.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

If I ever fall in love with you.

If I ever fall in love with you know you are every poem I’ve ever written every corpse hanging in the closet every weed breaking pavement and every cloud of cigarette smoke. You are the heroin that betrayed me the lie and every truth I... Continue →