I told him.

I told him
we can only get as undone
as the zippers we pull on.

This jacket
keeping us warm
I asked that we
pull up the neckline.

The breeze will only
freeze us
when our hearts
grow cold
so please
let us not let
our hearts grow cold.

I worry
I told him
about the weather taking
him away.
About how slow breathing
and frozen heartbeats
happen to the best of them.

About how accidents
happen to the best of them.

We can never be
cautious enough
when driving in the rain.

He told me
how careful he was
I’m almost upset
this eased me.

I guess I feel better
that he checks his mirrors
when he switches lanes,
but you know
the mirrors are never big enough,
it can still disappear under you
blood still stains streets
despite all of the air bags.

Sometimes they come out of
nowhere.

I remember how she loved him
and would never take that back
but how she would
never
never do that again.

I think this is different.
Or I’m pretending
it is
so I can sleep
when rain slams against skylights.

I pretend cautious
is as good as clean.

But accidents happen.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

after the night

I wanted to write a poem on the night after the night of crying this is the first one after the the last one that felt worse than death and I remember describing it that way after a year of death to include: no one saw it coming, an... Continue →