Man Made Beauty that Ruined Me

This face was not made to be hidden,
Skin covered,
Barely breathing.
Unable to look in a mirror,
Unless the tone was even.

And scars unapparent,
Not distracting from eyes,
The color of the soil,
That made me,
That I wanted to alter,
To the color of the sky,
That would take me.

And these eyebrows,
Were not designed to change with the seasons,
A bold Russian look,
Minimized with tweezing.

And the courage it takes,
To walk out with a naked face,
Not the kind that was painted,
To look natural,
But the kind that was,
Washed,
Cleansed,
Of man made beauty,
That ruined me.

Now I must create new habits,
That don’t allow me to damage,
Because I have the power,
To cover up.
But I want the power,
To stand naked,
And fearless,
Without chemicals,
That make me spiritless.

A power that comes from,
A core that is created,
Not infinite commercials,
That leaves mankind jaded.
I don’t want a man,
To fear the day,
That he really sees me.
I don’t want to hide,
Uneven tones,
For the fear,
That he leaves me.
I want to show-up,
An elephant’s strength,
That seeps through open pores,
Given oxygen,
And moisture,
That the industry ignores.

And I do not blame man,
For he told me my eyebrows,
Were strong.
And my father,
Didn’t believe in adding color,
Where it didn’t belong.

And some days,
I see my face,
As a blank canvas,
And I can’t wait to create,
But everyday?
It’s endless.
I need not exude perfection,
For an imperfect world,
That feeds on a fear of rejection.
And I will no longer hide,
My puffy eyes,
So you can feel comfortable,
Not dealing with the fact,
That everybody dies,
No…

For this face was not made to be hidden,
Skin covered,
Barely breathing.
Unable to look in a mirror,
Unless the tone was even.
And scars unapparent,
Not distracting from eyes,
The color of the soil,
That made me,
That I wanted to alter,
To the color of the sky,
That would take me.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

drop your recovery date

my recovery date is everyday that I open my eyes and choose to get out of bed it is everyday I open my eyes and stay another hour another hour another hour it is alarm clocks and snoozes it is everyday I survive it is nighttime when I... Continue →