Seeking

I could spend my whole life fighting the world I was born into,
Blaming a time I didn’t choose.

Or I can accept it.

I can accept this miracle of life.

Accept that my lungs expand in a society I am not in love with.

Maybe then I can fall in love with my lungs, my life, this life, this world.

I find myself seeking,
In spiritual discontent.
Seeking in a world I don’t trust, in a society that repulses me.

Yet a society I fear to leave.

I am seeking, searching for peace of mind, peace of body.
As my mind twists and turns my chest hurts, carrying a weight it never chose to pick up.

I feel alone, utterly alone.

Overwhelmed with these feelings of discontent.

Nothing, nothing, ever being good enough.

And who am I?

How am I more deserving than the next one?

The pain in my chest is back.
In hours of day, in hours of night.

It wakes me, and it slows my sleep.
I know it shouldn’t run me.

So I breathe.

I breathe slowly, consciously, reminding myself that all I have is this.

And I could spend my whole life fighting the world I was born into.

Blaming a time I didn’t choose.

Or I can accept it.

I can accept this miracle of life.

Accept that my lungs expand in a society I’m not in love with.

Maybe then I can fall in love with my lungs, my life, this life, this world.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

You are like the dress.

You are like the dress I keep in the back of my closet hoping one day it will pour itself down my bones land just above the floor no longer drag picking up all of that which it does not own and I do not own and should not be burdened... Continue →