Shell

It has
so many colors
so many shades.
It’s a little dull
but
isn’t everything
sometimes?
It’s full of worms
making moves
on a surface.
Protective army
dotted in
darkness
not smooth
to the touch
but
don’t touch!

My eyes
still see how rough it
is
to be.
And loneliness pours
from it
but it loves
being alone
so when did it
become a problem?
It’s not a problem.
There are
no problems.
Therefore
solutions are
hard to come by.
We can’t spend
our time
fixing that
which was never
broken.
Maybe we
were never broken
because my being
is still whole
despite what I tell myself.

There is a soul
that shines inside
despite
that voice
constantly trying to hide.
The light that hits
its deepness
cannot be hidden
by anyone’s attempts.
My voice
rings through
the dullness
and crushes silence
with words
that use me to get
to you.
They flow in
and hide in a cave
of beauty
until one day
no longer
can
they keep themselves
warm with
internal
fire.
Branches disappear
and they
make their way
out.
So they’ll
tell me
you’re beautiful
inside
like
they doubted
I have wisdom
beyond my years
wisdom
that seeks
hungry ears.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Man Made Beauty that Ruined Me

This face was not made to be hidden, Skin covered, Barely breathing. Unable to look in a mirror, Unless the tone was even. And scars unapparent, Not distracting from eyes, The color of the soil, That made me, That I wanted to alter, To... Continue →