Simple Living

My dear creative being,
I wish only that you learn to live,
To be,
As if life depends on your being.

To see,
Not those mistakes,
Dark specks,
But the light within them.

To respect a control beyond yours,
Which does not wish to control,
But merely,
To be.

To take light,
And make life.

To be tethered,
Unmoving,
Yet ever changing,
Always reaching for the light.
Chemical reactions,
From inability to take flight.

Oh how I wish,
You were,
This simple,
Yet intelligent form.

That lives,
And dies,
Like you,
But suffers less.
As it hurts,
But doesn’t spend its days,
Contemplating pain.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Disease or Not Disease - That shouldn’t be the question.

As my interest in becoming involved in the field of substance recovery spiked, I began discussing my ideas with a past user, who in present day is an active participant in AA (let us call her Amy). I spoke of my personal experience, how... Continue →