Bare bones

When the bare bones of family
hold unspoken history
we cough up dust
and wonder why we don’t know how to breathe deep
when space is taken by the past of roots
rotting.

There is one
who will choose to clean her airways
notice all that traps us and decide no more
but it is not easy
to cough for the rest of them.

But there is always that one who thinks that she can.
But she can’t.
And she knows this.
But she tries.

And they are all as innocent as her.

But they won’t believe her.
That these words are all just attempts at healing.
And is it working?
Or is healing breathing deep despite trapped dust?
Must it be cleaned out or swallowed down?

I don’t know.
But I am all dust pan in hand
ready and willing.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

You are like the dress.

You are like the dress I keep in the back of my closet hoping one day it will pour itself down my bones land just above the floor no longer drag picking up all of that which it does not own and I do not own and should not be burdened... Continue →