Frontier

Dear Frontier,

I have packed a backpack and mentally labeled that thing personal item even when it is clearly,
carry-on
especially after books, journals, and pens filled its core
my just-in-case shit
but that Frontier shit gives me some crazy anxiety shit
not gunna lie shit
baggage fees make me a liar.

The too honest girl you know turns super sly
scarf to cover backpack straps
last flight I calculated if it was worth it
how much online vs. at the gate
figured I’d take the chance
and I did
caught window seat
(like every fucking time I don’t know who is still paying to pick but stop)
caught window seat
threw backpack in the overhead compartment
though the space wasn’t mine
but Frontier can go fuck a duck
and fly one home
that airline is a gamble of take off late or cancellations
if they’re taking their chance with me I’ll take it back
write poems on their tiniest little tray tables
I recommend them to no one
play battle cards with myself,
like is it worth it? Like really worth it?
But damn it,
it’s only 30 dollars one way.

But if you’re gunna take anything from this PSA
I’ve labeled poem
never. Never for a connecting flight.
You might not make it.
I hope we shut them down someday.

Till then,
Frontier can keep making me a liar.

and I’ll keep making my carry-on personal baggage,
and that’s not a metaphor as much as it is one,
I have more shit then anyone knows where to store
so I show up
scarf covering scars
and that
is less metaphor than I want to admit
And it’s only me
and this mirror
and isn’t that the most headache flight of them all?
When you are your own pressure change, oxygen mask that might not inflate, AND life raft.

So I pack light for most rides
you never know when they’re gunna catch you
when you gotta shove it in dimensions, and quietly pray it fits
so you teach yourself to heal your baggage small
fits under the seat in front of you
and you’re good enough this way
and you shouldn’t cost more for your history.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

what came first

I walk into a kitchen full of dirty dishes sink doesn’t know itself to be any different lately walk into my living room dog food has crawled from kitchen tiles to living room carpet I have been looking at these crumbs for days the vacuum... Continue →