My Knee

My knee cracked today
as I moved from laying
to, still laying.
I decided to make it mean,
“I love you.”

I decided it wasn’t a reminder
of the pain I caused
but of it’s
unconditional existence
for carrying me
passed its own limits
for loving me
passed my anxious rides
my
brutal climbs
for descents
for hanging around for both.

My knee whisptered
“I love you,” in the silence.
You know
I’ve heard it for years
but never got the message.

It asked me to listen
to her sister
who takes more weight
than she was born to bear.

I haven’t said it back yet
I’m waiting until I hear it again
see if I feel the same
without obligation
without saying it
because she said it first.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

The Hardness of Her Soul

The hardness of her soul, So they would never step, And break the fragile parts inside, Safe and well kept. Guarded as she is, She’ll always be alone. Never letting them inside, The skills she’ll always hone. Maybe it’s for protection,... Continue →