Spin Me Around

We’re pulled apart
the wall
is a floor.

We can’t stomp it out.

We built it separately
laying down layers
while the other sleeps
leaves
works in hours of the night.

I built this
with the words
I never said
never say.

I collect them
fresh
some
I spend my time
dusting off.

It’s invisible
but I feel it when
I open my mouth.
Love beats in my
chest
but I
cannot reach you with words
you will not hear.
So it pours from my eyes.
You’re uncomfortable.
So it’s thrown with my fist.
But I missed the point
as you did.

To tear down a wall
of unspoken love
is to tear myself open.
And I remember the ripping
feeling alive
but how much scarier
death is
when oxygen so readily
runs through my body.

You bury the wall
under rugs.
But I can’t pretend
that silence
won’t consume me.

I’m choking on words laid by
my mind
in a place where emotions
only make us human.

Things left unsaid
are not due
to a cork
you placed
in my mouth.

As if I’m
not allowed.

I placed it there
myself.
I
bottled
me up.

And I blame you
for my silence.
And I
can’t
keep quiet.

The opener,
Dangles from my hand.
I need only pierce
the cork,
And spin me around.
Spin me around.
Like the days
when you used to.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

after the night

I wanted to write a poem on the night after the night of crying this is the first one after the the last one that felt worse than death and I remember describing it that way after a year of death to include: no one saw it coming, an... Continue →