The People Lie

The people lie in the cold of the Denver streets
the church still has its lights on
but doors locked.
God
only for the privileged.

My fathers still lights those candles
the wax still melts on church floors
he always forgets to bring the fire home.

Broadway reminds me of the only man
I came to love
fell for.
I remember him wrapping his arms around me
there
me
all butterflies
us
all kisses.

University reminds me of the man I thought
I’d fall in love with
but never tripped.
He brought me Broadway.

Broadway brought me home.

Home
reminds me that I like to be alone most times.
That I’m capable of loving myself in the quiet.
Think this might be why I fell in love
I was really trying to give myself away.

I think I gave myself to a man who hasn’t learned to love
himself in the quiet.
He tried to take me down too
made me feel less beautiful
I painted my face for him
but love myself naked.

He said.
“Don’t ever think you’re no beautiful babe,”
as he said goodbye.
I pushed him away that time.
Wonder if he’s found my beauty in his silence
forgot to find his own.
Think he might want me more this time
know
he should want himself more first.

I hope he learns to find his beauty
before he tries to steal mine away.

And I hope I learn it can’t be stolen.

So I again must learn to love myself
in the silence
so I can give myself to another
a nameless street.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Simplicity

I held on to her hand, to his hand, And we crossed the road, and we crossed the ocean. I arrived here. Here, I held onto her hand, to his hand, And we crossed the road. Those hands gave me everything I needed, I wanted. Yes, everything I... Continue →